Welcome to our Board


The Board is accountable for our vision, strategy, operational management, and financial decisions. We have a unitary Board which consists of fifteen Board Members including the Chair, seven voting Non -Executive Directors, and seven voting Executive Directors.


Executive Directors 

Our Executive Directors are responsible for the day to day management of the Trust and are also part of the Board. They are lead by the Chief Executive. 


Non-Executive Directors 

Non-Executive Directors ensure that the Board acts in the best interests of our patients and community. They are appointed based on thier skill and experience for a specific term. 


Trust Chair

The Trust Chair, who is a Non-Executive Director holds a dual role as Chair of the Board of Directors as well as the Council of Governors. This means that the Chair is responsible for leading both the Board and the Council of Governors to ensure that they are working together effectively.

Additionally, the Board also includes a Deputy Chair who deputises for the Chair when appropriate and a Senior Independent Director (SID) who is appointed by the Board made in consultation with the Council of Governors. The SID should act as the point of contact with the Board of Directors if Governors have concerns which approaches through normal channels have failed to resolve or for which such approaches are inappropriate. The SID may also act as the point of contact with the Board for Governors when they discuss for example the Chair's performance.

The Board works closely with our Council of Governors who represents the views of our local community.


Contacting the Board 

All Board members may be contacted via the Corporate Governance Team via Corporate.meeting@swast.nhs.uk, South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust, Abbey Court, Eagle Way, Exeter, EX2 7HY.


Our board

  1. Martin Holloway

    Interim Chair

  2. Dr John Martin

    Chief Executive

  3. Amy Beet

    Executive Director of People / Deputy Chief Executive (currently on Maternity Leave)

  4. Jess Cunningham

    Executive Director of Operations / Deputy Chief Executive

  5. Andrew Rosser

    Executive Director of Finance and Infrastructure

  6. Jane Chandler

    Executive Director of Quality Patient Care

  7. Tina Cantelo

    Executive Director of Strategy and Transformation

    Executive Director of Strategy and Transformation

  8. Matthew Thomas

    Executive Medical Director

    Executive Medical Director

  9. Margaret Batty

    Non-Executive Director

  10. Margaret Arnold

    Non-Executive Director

  11. Chris Perry

    Non-Executive Director

  12. Sarah James

    Non-Executive Director

  13. Raz Akbar

    Non-Executive Director

  14. Claire Lehman

    Non-Executive Director

Total results: 14